Skip to content

FAQs for Voucher Recipients

Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for Voucher Recipients

I.Eligible persons

A:Elderly person aged 65 or above who holds a valid Hong Kong Identity Card within the meaning of the Registration of Persons Ordinance (Cap. 177) or a valid Certificate of Exemption within the meaning of the Immigration Ordinance (Cap. 115), except for those who obtained a Hong Kong Identity Card by virtue of a previous permission to land or remain in Hong Kong granted to him/ her and such permission has expired or ceased to be valid, is eligible for using the vouchers even if he/she is not a permanent resident.

A: Yes. All elderly residents aged 65 or above, except for those who obtained a Hong Kong Identity Card by virtue of a previous permission to land or remain in Hong Kong granted to him/ her and such permission has expired or ceased to be valid, are eligible for using the health care vouchers.



II. Services covered by the Scheme

A: Health care vouchers can be used for private (non-subsidized) healthcare services. Based on principle of avoiding double subsidy by the Government, unless otherwise specified, vouchers cannot be used for public services or those directly subsidized by the Government (including the publicly subsidized healthcare services purchased from the private sector). Health care vouchers can be used for healthcare services provided by charitable organizations, non-profit making organizations or other non-government organizations as long as the aforesaid principle is complied with.

A: It depends on the nature of the organizations by which the community nurses are employed. The eligible person can use health care vouchers to pay the services provided by the community nurses employed by private institutions. The principle is to avoid double subsidy by the Government.

A: No. The Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme aims at enhancing the primary healthcare services for the elderly persons. Therefore, the vouchers cannot be used for in-patient services.

A: Yes, if the A&E services belong to out-patient services and no in-patient services are involved, the voucher can be used for paying such services. Yet, as the Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme aims at enhancing the primary healthcare services for the elders, we hope that healthcare service providers can recommend elders to use their health care vouchers for primary healthcare services.

A: Yes. Health care vouchers can be used for preventive and curative services but not for solely purchasing products such as medications, spectacles, dried seafood, personal care products, food products or medical equipment.

A: No. The Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme aims at enhancing the primary healthcare services for the elderly persons, and therefore is not applicable to day surgery procedures.



III. The Use of Health Care Vouchers

A: With the Scheme enhanced by lowering the eligibility age from 70 to 65 with effect from 1 July 2017, elderly persons who reached the age of 65 to 69 in 2017 could start to use vouchers since 1 July 2017. From 2018 onwards, the annual voucher amount would be deposited in their accounts on 1 January of respective years. Nevertheless, an elder who obtained a Hong Kong Identity Card by virtue of a previous permission to land or remain in Hong Kong granted to him/ her and such permission has expired or ceased to be valid is not eligible to use vouchers.

A: Elderly person aged 65 or above in 2018 who holds a valid Hong Kong Identity Card or Certificate of Exemption issued by the Immigration Department, except for those who obtained a Hong Kong Identity Card by virtue of a previous permission to land or remain in Hong Kong granted to him/ her and such permission has expired or ceased to be valid, is eligible for the abovementioned additional, one-off $1,000 worth of vouchers for each of the two years even if the elder had yet to create a voucher account on or before 26 June 2019. Those who had yet to create a voucher account on 26 June 2019 would receive their entitled voucher amount, including the additional $1,000 for each of the two years, upon account creation, which is subject to the accumulation limit of vouchers of relevant years.

A: In order to facilitate elderly persons, they do not need to register in advance. When an eligible elderly person needs to receive healthcare services and use the vouchers, he/she just has to show his/her HKIC to an enrolled healthcare service provider and sign a consent form after receiving the healthcare services in person.

A: Voucher recipients or their carers can browse the list of enrolled healthcare service providers at the Health Care Voucher Scheme website (www.hcv.gov.hk) or call 2838 2311 to obtain the list.

A: No. With a view to avoiding theft of identity and protecting the right and interest in using vouchers, an elderly person is required to show his/her original HKIC for verification of identity by healthcare service providers.

A: No. With a view to avoiding theft of identity and protecting the right and interest in using vouchers, an elderly person is required to show his/her original HKIC for verification of identity by healthcare service providers.

A: During the Scheme period, unused voucher amount of each year can be retained for use in the following years. The unspent voucher amount can be carried forward and accumulated by an eligible elderly person but subject to an accumulation limit of vouchers of relevant years. There is no restriction on the number of years that an elderly person may carry forward the unspent voucher amount but the cumulative total in the account as at 1 January each year cannot exceed the accumulation limit of that year.

Unused Quota on optometry services will lapse at the end of each cycle. It cannot be carried forward and accumulated to the next 2-year cycle.

A: For elders who were eligible to use vouchers in 2019 (i.e. those born in 1954 or before), the first cycle ran from 26 June 2019 until 31 December 2020. The first cycle of less than two years also made available a Quota of $2,000 vouchers for use on optometry services. The second 2-year cycle runs from 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2022, and so on. For those born in 1955 or after, the 2-year cycle is counted from 1 January of the year in which they become eligible to use vouchers.

A: Elderly persons can use vouchers at any clinics of service providers who have enrolled under the Scheme. A Scheme logo Health Care Voucher will be displayed outside the clinic for easy identification.

A: As long as there are enrolled healthcare service providers providing healthcare services for the eligible elderly persons in the convalescent home, the elderly persons can use the vouchers.

A: No. Voucher can only be used by the eligible elderly person himself/herself and cannot be transferred to or shared with another person.

A: No. The vouchers can only be used by the eligible elderly person himself/herself for primary healthcare services. They are non-transferable and not for sale. Any person who makes use of the HKIC of deceased elderly person to use the latter's unspent vouchers might be charged of fraud and subject to criminal liability.

A: Upon deduction of vouchers from the elderly persons’ voucher accounts, enrolled healthcare service providers will provide elderly persons with a “Notice on use of Health Care Voucher” indicating the voucher amount before the visit, claimed for the visit and the remaining voucher amount for use after the visit. Moreover, family members or carers can help elders to check the voucher balance, the amount of vouchers that can be used for optometry services, the amount of vouchers to be deposited in their accounts on 1 January of the coming year and the amount of vouchers expected to be forfeited on that day due to the accumulation limit being exceeded by accessing the voucher balance enquiry though this website or calling the voucher balance enquiry hotline (2838 0511). Elderly persons who have registered with eHealth can also check the above information and voucher transaction records in the past two years by using eHealth App.

A: Guardians are given the legal power by the Guardianship Board to make important decisions relating to personal circumstances for such adults about his/her place of residence or consenting to his/her medical or dental treatment. Guardians may also be given legal power to manage a limited amount of that person’s money. For cases with the Director of Social Welfare as the legal guardian, they will be followed up by social workers of the Social Welfare Department. Regarding elders who are incapable of making their own decisions and have no legal guardian, issues concerned are usually handled by their family members or social workers (not duly authorized) on the premise that the benefit and welfare of the elders are safeguarded. The above arrangements are applicable to the Scheme. The enrolled healthcare service provider needs to show the guardian the “Consent of Witness/Guardian to Transfer Personal Data” which contains the terms that they are required to consent to and the statement of purpose. After reading the above document, the guardian should write his/her name, HKIC number and date on the consent form and sign it.

A: If the elderly person is illiterate, he/she can put a mark or finger print on the space for signature to indicate that he/she understands and agrees with the amount of vouchers deducted in the presence of an adult as witness. The enrolled healthcare service provider needs to show the witness the “Consent of Witness/Guardian to Transfer Personal Data” which contains the terms that they are required to consent to and the statement of purpose. After reading the above document, the witness should write his/her name, HKIC number and date on the consent form and sign it.

A: Yes. The witness should write his/her name, HKIC number and date on the consent form and sign it.


Health Care Voucher Division
Department of Health
July 2021

"Scan QR Code" in WeChat and tap "..." to share.

跳至主要內容

有關醫療券使用者

醫療券使用者常見問題及答案

I.合資格人士

答:年滿65歲,並持有在人事登記規例 (第177章) 內所指的有效香港身份證或在入境條例 (第115章) 內所指的有效豁免登記證明書的長者,無論是否永久居民,仍合資格使用醫療券。然而,若該長者是憑藉其已獲入境或逗留准許而獲簽發香港身份證,而該准許已經逾期或不再有效則除外 。

答:是。65歲或以上的本港居民都合乎資格。然而,若該長者是憑藉其已獲入境或逗留准許而獲簽發香港身份證,而該准許已經逾期或不再有效則除外。



II.涵蓋服務

答:醫療券可用於私營(非資助)醫護服務。基於避免政府雙重補貼的原則,除特別註明外,醫療券不可以用於公營服務或政府直接資助的服務(包括向私營市場購買的公共資助服務)。只要符合此原則,醫療券可用於慈善團體、非牟利機構或其他非政府組織所提供的醫療服務。

答:這視乎社康護士受聘於何種機構,如社康護士由私營機構聘用,合資格人士便可使用醫療券支付此項服務費用,其原則是避免政府雙重補貼。

答:不可以。長者醫療券計劃旨在加強對長者的基層醫療服務,醫療券並不適用於住院服務。

答:可以。若此急症室服務是門診,不涉及住院服務,原則是可以使用醫療券支付服務費用。由於長者醫療券計劃旨在加強對長者的基層醫療服務,我們希望醫療服務提供者建議他們將醫療券多用於基層醫療服務上。

答:可以。醫療券可用於預防性及治療性的服務,但不可用來純粹購買物品,如藥物、眼鏡,海味、個人護理用品、食品或醫療用品。

答:不可以。長者醫療券計劃旨在為加強對長者的基層醫療服務,並不適用於日間手術程序。



III.使用醫療券

答:由2017年7月1日起,長者醫療券計劃的受惠長者合資格年齡已由70 歲降低至65歲。在2017年年滿65歲至69歲長者,可自2017年 7月 1日起使用醫療券。由2018年起,每年的醫療券金額會於該年1月1日存入他們的醫療券戶口。然而,若該長者是憑藉其已獲入境或逗留准許而獲簽發香港身份證,而該准許已經逾期或不再有效則除外。

答:只要長者於2018年年滿65歲,並持有有效的香港身份證或入境事務處發出的有效《豁免登記證明書》,無論是否於2019年6月26日或之前已開設醫療券戶口,均合資格獲發上述兩年的一次性額外1,000元醫療券金額。 然而,若該長者是憑藉其已獲入境或逗留准許而獲簽發香港身份證,而該准許已經逾期或不再有效則除外。於2019年6月26日仍未開設醫療券戶口的長者,其享有的醫療券金額,包括上述兩年的額外1,000元,會於戶口開設當日發放,但須視乎相關年份的醫療券累積金額上限。

答:這個計劃的設計是盡量方便長者,因此長者不須預先登記,合資格的長者在有需要接受醫護服務及使用醫療券時,只需向已登記的醫療服務提供者出示身份證,並在親身接受醫護服務後簽署同意書,便可使用醫療券。

答:醫療券使用者或其照顧者可登入醫療券網站 (www.hcv.gov.hk),瀏覽已登記醫療服務提供者名單,或致電2838 2311取得名單。

答:不可以。長者必須提供身份證正本予醫療服務提供者核實,以防止長者的身份被盜用,保障長者使用醫療券的權利。

答:不可以。長者必須提供身份證正本予醫療服務提供者核實,以防止長者的身份被盜用,保障長者使用醫療券的權利。

答:計劃期內,每名長者尚未使用的醫療券金額均可在下年繼續使用,未使用的醫療券保留年期不限,但於每年一月一日所累積的總額不得超過該年的醫療券累積金額上限。

答:兩年期內未用的視光服務配額於有關年期結束時失效,不可累積至下一個兩年期。

答:於2019年符合資格使用醫療券(即於1954年或以前出生)的長者,第一個周期於2019年6月26日開始至2020年12月31日,即第一個周期不足兩年亦有2,000元醫療券配額用於視光服務;而第二個兩年期將由2021年1月1日起至2022年12月31日,餘此類推。1955年或之後出生的人士,有關的兩年期將在其符合資格使用醫療券該年的1月1日起開始計算。

答:長者可以在任何已登記參加計劃的醫療服務提供者的診所使用醫療券。診所外會貼有醫療券標誌 醫療券 以供識別。

答:只要有已登記醫療服務提供者為合資格長者提供醫療服務,合資格長者在親身接受有關醫療服務後便可使用醫療券。

答:不可以。醫療券只供合資格長者本人使用,不可以轉贈別人或與別人共享。

答:不可以。醫療券只供合資格長者本人使用基層醫療服務,不能轉讓或出售。任何人如利用已離世長者的身份證使用其戶口餘下的醫療券金額,可能會被控詐騙等罪行及須負上刑事責任。

答:已登記醫療服務提供者在每次扣除醫療券後,都會發給長者一張「醫療券使用記錄」,列明扣取前、已扣取及剩餘的醫療券金額。此外,長者的親友或照顧者可協助長者按此或致電醫療券結存查詢熱線 (2838 0511) 查詢醫療券餘額、可用於視光服務的醫療券金額、將於來年一月一日發放至長者戶口的醫療券金額,以及預計將於當日因超過累積上限而被取消的醫療券金額。已登記醫健通的長者也可利用醫健通eHealth手機程式查詢上述資料及過去兩年的醫療券交易記錄。

答:已獲監護委員會授予法定權力的監護人可替精神上無認知能力人士在其住宿或同意接受醫療或牙科治療等個人事宜上作出重要的決定。監護人亦可獲授予法定權力替當事人處理限量的金錢。倘若法定的監護人是社會福利署署長,該署會安排社工跟進。 至於沒有決斷能力而未有法定監護人的長者,多由親屬或社工在保障長者的利益及福利的前題下,以折衷的方法 (沒有正式授權) 協助處理有關事宜。 以上安排適用於長者醫療券計劃,已登記醫療服務提供者須向監護人展示「見證人/監護人同意轉交個人資料」文件,當中載有他們須同意的條款及收集個人資料的目的,該監護人在閱讀上述文件後,須在同意書內寫上其姓名、香港身份證號碼、日期及簽署。

答:如長者不會讀寫,可在一名成年人見證下在簽名欄畫上標記或按指模,以確認明白和同意扣除的醫療券金額。已登記醫療服務提供者須向見證人展示「見證人/監護人同意轉交個人資料」文件,當中載有他們須同意的條款及收集個人資料的目的,該見證人在閱讀上述文件後,須在同意書內寫上其姓名、香港身份證號碼、日期及簽署。

答: 可以。見證人須在同意書內寫上姓名、香港身份證號碼、日期及簽署。


衞生署醫療券事務科
二零二一年七月

請在微信中掃描二維碼然後按「...」以分享