The Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (“HKSARG”) - Scheme at the University of Hong Kong - Shenzhen Hospital (“HKU-SZ Hospital”)

Background

The Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme is launched by the HKSARG to provide subsidies for Hong Kong elders aged 70 or above and holding a valid Hong Kong Identity Card or Certificate of Exemption issued by the Immigration Department of the HKSARG to use private primary care services. Starting from 1 July 2017, the eligibility age for the Scheme has been lowered from 70 to 65. At present, the annual voucher amount per eligible elder is HK$2,000. The unspent voucher amount can be carried forward and accumulated for use in subsequent years, subject to a ceiling of HK$8,000. In 2018 and 2019, each eligible elder was also provided with an additional voucher amount of $1,000 on a one-off basis in that year.

The HKU-SZ Hospital, wholly invested by the Shenzhen Government and managed by the University of Hong Kong, is a comprehensive public hospital.  Since its trial operation on 1 July 2012, the Hospital has been providing healthcare services to the public in addition to undertaking research and teaching.

The HKSARG has launched a Pilot Scheme at the HKU-SZ Hospital on 6 October 2015 to enable eligible Hong Kong elders to use health care vouchers to pay for the fees of outpatient services provided by designated clinics/departments of the HKU-SZ Hospital.  The Pilot Scheme has been regularised with effect from 26 June 2019.

What are the eligibility criteria for joining the Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme?

Starting from 1 July 2017, the eligibility age for the Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme has been lowered from 70 to 65. Hong Kong elders aged 65 or above who hold a valid Hong Kong Identity Card or Certificate of Exemption issued by the Immigration Department of the HKSARG can join the Scheme. Nevertheless, an elder who obtained a Hong Kong Identity Card by virtue of a previous permission to land or remain in Hong Kong granted to him/ her and such permission has expired or ceased to be valid is not eligible to use vouchers.

How to collect and use health care vouchers at the HKU-SZ Hospital?

Health care vouchers are issued and claimed through an electronic platform.  Eligible elders need not pre-register, collect or carry the vouchers. 

Elders should visit in person the 1st Floor Shroff Office of the Outpatient and Medical Service Block, the Shroff Office of the Accident and Emergency Department at B1 Floor or the Shroff Office of the Health Assessment and Management Center of the HKU-SZ Hospital, show a valid Hong Kong Identity Card or Certificate of Exemption issued by the Immigration Department of the HKSARG and indicates his/her wish to use health care vouchers to pay for the fee of outpatient services received from the designated clinics/departments* on that day.

The Hospital will make voucher claim for the elder.  At the same time, the record of voucher usage in the elder’s account will also be updated.  Upon completion of the process of making voucher claim, the Hospital will give a printed record of voucher balance to the elder for retention.

*At which clinics/departments of the HKU-SZ Hospital can health care vouchers be used?
Health care vouchers can be used for the outpatient services (including preventive care services as well as curative and rehabilitative services) provided by the following Outpatient Medical Centers/ Medical Service Departments of the HKU-SZ Hospital:

  • Outpatient Medical Center - Family Medicine Clinic
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Health Assessment and Management Centre
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Accident and Emergency Department
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Orthopedic Clinic
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Ophthalmology Clinic
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Dental Clinic
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Chinese Medicine Clinic
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Medicine Clinic
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Gynaecology Clinic
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Surgery Clinic
  • Outpatient Medical Center - Rehabilitation Clinic
  • Medical Service Department - Physiotherapy Department
  • Medical Service Department - Department of Medical Imaging
  • Medical Service Department - Department of Clinical Microbiology and Infection Control
  • Medical Service Department - Department of Pathology

Please note that health care vouchers are not applicable to inpatient services, pre-paid healthcare services and day surgery procedures, such as cataract surgery and endoscopy services.

In using vouchers to pay for the fees of healthcare services provided by the HKU-SZ Hospital, will the amount be calculated in Hong Kong Dollars or Renminbi?

As the vouchers are in Hong Kong dollars (“HK$”) while the fees for healthcare services provided by the HKU-SZ Hospital are in Renminbi (“RMB”), the voucher amount to be deducted under the Scheme at the HKU-SZ Hospital is calculated according to a monthly updated voucher conversion factor.  Details are as follows:

The voucher conversion factor is updated by the HKSARG on a monthly basis and displayed at the 1st Floor Shroff Office of the Outpatient and Medical Service Block, the Shroff Office of the Accident and Emergency Department at B1 Floor and the Shroff Office of the Health Assessment and Management Center of the HKU-SZ Hospital for elders' reference.

The monthly voucher conversion factor is calculated based on the average exchange rates of RMB to HKD quoted by the Hong Kong Association of Banks of five working days counting backwards from the last 4th working date of the previous month.  The average of the buying and selling exchange rates of RMB to HKD of these five days will then be rounded to three decimal places (For example, 1:1.227).   

Example 1: Assuming a voucher conversion factor of 1:1.127 on the consultation day and a service fee of RMB¥200, if an elder chooses to use vouchers to fully settle the fee, the voucher amount to be deducted from the elder’s voucher account will be HK$225.

(i.e. RMB¥200 x 1.127 = HK$225.4, rounded to the nearest dollar is HK$225)

Example 2: Assuming a voucher conversion factor of 1:1.255 on the consultation day and a service fee of RMB¥500, if an elder chooses to pay RMB¥300 of the fee by vouchers and settle the rest of the fee of RMB¥200 by cash, the voucher amount to be deducted from the elder’s voucher account will be HK$377.

(i.e. RMB¥300 x 1.255 = HK$376.5, rounded to the nearest dollar is HK$377)

Can an elder create a joint voucher account with his/her spouse to facilitate future use by either party?

Health care vouchers can only be used by the eligible elder.  Each elder should create his/her own voucher account.  Vouchers cannot be redeemed for cash or transferred to or shared with another person."

Is there a maximum accumulation limit for the unspent voucher amount cumulated in the voucher account?

On 1 January each year, the voucher amount elders are eligible to receive for that year will be automatically deposited in their voucher accounts. The unspent voucher amount in previous years can be carried forward but there is a maximum accumulation limit. In other words, the sum of voucher amount for the current year and those carried forward from previous years cannot exceed the $8,000 accumulation limit.

As any voucher amount exceeding the limit will be forfeited, elders are encouraged to make good use of the vouchers. 

How to check the voucher balance in the voucher account?

If the elders already have their voucher accounts created, elders or their relatives / friends authorised by them can check the following from the Scheme website (www.hcv.gov.hk) or the voucher balance enquiry hotline (telephone number: (852) 2838 0511) by entering the Hong Kong Identity Card number and date of birth of the elder: the elder’s voucher balance, the amount of vouchers to be deposited in the elder’s account on 1 January of the coming year and the amount of vouchers expected to be forfeited on that day due to the accumulation limit being exceeded. Elders may also refer to the latest “Notice on Use of Health Care Voucher” received after using the vouchers.

More information

For further information concerning the Scheme at the HKU-SZ Hospital or other information about the elderly health care vouchers, please visit the Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme website at www.hcv.gov.hk or call the enquiry hotline (telephone number: (852)2838 2311).

Health Care Voucher Unit of the Department of Health

Address: 1/F, Central District Health Centre, 1 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong

Enquiry hotline: (852) 2838 2311 (24 hours Interactive Voice Response System)

Website: www.hcv.gov.hk

E-mail Address: hcvu@dh.gov.hk

 

HKU-SZ Hospital

Address: 1, Haiyuan 1st Road, Futian District, Shenzhen, Guangdong (Joint of Baisi and Qiaocheng East Road)

Postal Code: 518053

Appointment Hotline: (86) 0755-86913399

Website: www.hku-szh.org

Poster of the Scheme

Leaflet of the Scheme

FAQ

香港特別行政區政府長者醫療券香港大學深圳醫院試點計劃

簡介

香港特別行政區(香港特區)政府在2009年推出長者醫療券計劃,資助年滿70歲並持有有效香港身份證或香港特區政府入境事務處發出的《豁免登記證明書》的香港長者使用私營基層醫療服務。由2017年7月1日起,計劃的受惠長者合資格年齡已由70歲降低至65歲。現時,每名合資格長者每年可獲發的醫療券金額為港幣2,000元,每年未用完的醫療券金額可累積至其後年份使用,累積上限為港幣5,000元。在2018年,每名合資格長者會獲發一次性的額外港幣1,000元醫療券金額。

香港大學深圳醫院是由深圳市政府全額投資、並由香港大學管理的大型綜合性公立醫院。醫院於2012年7月1日起試營運,為市民提供醫療服務並開展研究及教學。

香港特區政府於2015年10月6日推出試點計劃,讓合資格的香港長者可以使用醫療券支付香港大學深圳醫院指定科室提供的門診醫療護理服務的費用。

香港長者要符合甚麼資格,才可參加長者醫療券計劃?

由2017年7月1日起,長者醫療券計劃的受惠長者合資格年齡已由70歲降低至65歲。凡年滿65歲並持有有效香港身份證或香港特區政府入境事務處發出的《豁免登記證明書》 的香港長者,便可參加長者醫療券計劃。然而,若該長者是憑藉其已獲入境或逗留准許而獲簽發香港身份證,而該准許已經逾期或不再有效則除外。

如何於香港大學深圳醫院領取及使用醫療券?

醫療券透過電子平台發放和使用,合資格長者毋須預先登記、領取或攜帶醫療券,只需按照以下簡單步驟於香港大學深圳醫院使用醫療券:

長者親身到香港大學深圳醫院的門診醫技樓一樓收費處、負一樓急診科收費處或體檢中心收費處,出示有效香港身份證或香港特區政府入境事務處發出的《豁免登記證明書》,並示意要使用醫療券支付當天在指定科室*接受的醫療護理服務的費用。

醫院會為長者申報使用醫療券,有關戶口內的醫療券使用記錄亦會即時更新。在完成申報後,醫院會給長者一份印有其醫療券戶口結存的記錄,以供保存。


*在香港大學深圳醫院哪些科室可以使用醫療券?

醫療券適用於下列香港大學深圳醫院的診療中心 / 醫技科室的門診醫療護理服務,包括預防性護理服務,以及治療和復康性服務:

  • 診療中心-家庭醫學全科門診
  • 診療中心-體檢中心
  • 診療中心-急診科
  • 診療中心-骨科
  • 診療中心-眼科
  • 診療中心-牙科
  • 診療中心-中醫科
  • 診療中心-內科
  • 診療中心-婦科
  • 診療中心-外科
  • 診療中心-康復科門診
  • 醫技科室-物理治療科
  • 醫技科室-醫學影像科
  • 醫技科室-臨床微生物及感染控制科
  • 醫技科室-病理科

請注意,醫療券並不適用於住院服務,需預先繳費的醫療護理服務及日間手術程序,如白內障手術或內窺鏡檢查服務。此外,醫療券不可以純粹用來購買物品,如藥物、醫療用品等。

使用醫療券支付香港大學深圳醫院提供的醫療護理服務的費用是以港幣或人民幣計算?

由於醫療券是以港幣為單位,而香港大學深圳醫院的醫療護理服務費用則以人民幣結算,因此長者醫療券香港大學深圳醫院試點計劃會根據每月更新的換算率計算需扣除的醫療券金額,詳情如下:

醫療券換算率會由香港特區政府每月調整一次,並標示於香港大學深圳醫院的門診醫技樓一樓收費處、負一樓急診科收費處、體檢中心收費處,供長者參考。

每月的醫療券的換算率,以香港銀行公會在上一個月的最後第八個工作天起至最後第四個工作天的五天內的人民幣轉換港元的平均匯率計算。方法是計算該五天人民幣兌港元的買入價及賣出價的平均價,並以四捨五入方式取至小數點後三個位(如1:1.227)。

例子一:假設診症當日的人民幣與醫療券的換算率為1:1.127,而醫療護理服務收費是人民幣¥200,若長者選擇以醫療券支付全數費用,其醫療券戶口會被扣除的醫療券金額為港幣225元。

(即人民幣¥200 x 1.127 = 港幣225.4元,以四捨五入方式計算後最接近整數為港幣225元)

例子二:假設診症當日的人民幣與醫療券的換算率為1:1.255,而服務收費是人民幣¥500,若長者選擇以醫療券支付的費用為人民幣¥300,以現金人民幣¥200支付餘額,則其醫療券戶口會被扣除的醫療券金額為港幣377元 。

(即人民幣¥300 x 1.255 =港幣 376.5元,以四捨五入方式計算後最接近整數為港幣377元)

長者可否與配偶開立聯名醫療券戶口以便日後任何一方都可以使用醫療券?
醫療券只供合資格長者本人使用,每名長者須開立其個人醫療券戶口,醫療券不可以兌換現金或轉贈別人。

戶口儲存了尚未使用的醫療券金額,累積金額有上限嗎?
在每年一月一日,長者於當年度可獲發的醫療券金額會自動存入長者的醫療券戶口。往年尚未使用的醫療券金額亦會自動轉撥到戶口內,但所累積的總金額不得超過累積上限。換言之,當年獲發的醫療券金額加上往年尚未使用的醫療券金額不得超過5,000元累積上限。

由於任何超過上限的醫療券金額即會被取消,我們鼓勵長者善用醫療券。

如何查閱醫療券戶口結存?

如長者已開立醫療券戶口,長者或其授權的親友可登入醫療券網頁www.hcv.gov.hk或致電醫療券結存查詢熱線(電話號碼: (852) 2838 0511),輸入長者的香港身份證號碼及出生日期,便可知悉長者的醫療券戶口結存。長者亦可參閱最近使用醫療券後收到的醫療券戶口結存記錄。

更多資料

如要進一步了解長者醫療券香港大學深圳醫院試點計劃或其他關於長者醫療券的資料,可瀏覽醫療券網頁 www.hcv.gov.hk或致電查詢熱線(電話號碼: (852) 2838 2311)。

衞生署醫療券組

地址:香港中環九如坊一號中區健康院一樓

查詢熱線: (852) 2838 2311 (24小時互動語音系統)

網站: www.hcv.gov.hk

電郵地址: hcvu@dh.gov.hk

香港大學深圳醫院

地址:廣東深圳市福田區海園一路1號(白石路與僑城東路交匯)

郵遞區號:518053

預約專線:(86) 0755-86913399

網站: www.hku-szh.org

試點計劃海報

試點計劃單張

常見問題及答案