Skip to content

FAQs for Healthcare Service Providers

Healthcare Service Providers Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

I. Enrolment

A: The following healthcare professionals who are registered in Hong Kong and practise in private sector are eligible to enrol in the Scheme: medical practitioners, registered Chinese medicine practitioners, dentists, chiropractors, registered nurses and enrolled nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, radiographers, medical laboratory technologists, and optometrists (in Part I of the register).

A: Advance enrolment of service providers participating in the Scheme is required to facilitate the creation of service provider account to access the electronic eHealth System (Subsidies) as well as the distribution of the Scheme logo, authentication token and Smart ID Card reader, etc.

A: Upon receipt of an enrolment application, The Department of health will inform the healthcare service provider the preliminary result of his/her application in writing in about 14 working days.

A: To facilitate the administrative work for processing claims and reimbursement of health care vouchers, the enrolled healthcare service provider can create "data entry accounts" to delegate the data management work to their data entry clerks. Please refer to the following link (https://apps.hcv.gov.hk/HCSP/Demo/EN/serviceprovider.htm) for the steps in creating the data entry account. The enrolled healthcare service provider should log in the eHealth System (Subsidies) daily for checking and confirming the voucher account being created and claims information entered through the "data entry accounts". Advance enrolment with DH is not required for data entry clerks.

A: Enrolment to the Scheme is not made solely in the name of a clinic or a hospital. Healthcare service providers practising in a medical organization should be enrolled as individual healthcare professionals together with their medical organization. The place of practice (e.g. the clinic) as well as the bank account designated for the reimbursement of the voucher claims should be specified during enrolment.



II. Services covered by the Scheme

A: Health care vouchers can be used for private (unsubsidized) healthcare services. Based on principle of avoiding double subsidy by the Government, unless otherwise specified, vouchers cannot be used for public services or those directly subsidized by the Government (including the publicly subsidized healthcare services purchased from the private sector). Health care vouchers can be used for healthcare services provided by charitable organizations, non-profit making organizations or other non-government organizations as long as the aforesaid principle is complied with.

A: It depends on the nature of the organizations by which the community nurses are employed. The eligible person can use health care vouchers to pay the services provided by the community nurses employed by private institutions. The principle is to avoid double subsidy by the Government.

A: No. The Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme aims at enhancing the primary healthcare services for the elderly person. Therefore the voucher cannot be used for in-patient services.

A: Yes, if the A&E services belong to out-patient services and no in-patient services are involved, the voucher can then be used for paying such services. Yet, as the Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme aims at enhancing the primary healthcare services for the elders, we hope that healthcare service providers can encourage elders to use their health care vouchers for primary healthcare services.

A: Yes. Health care vouchers can be used for preventive and curative services performed at private out-patient clinics.

A: No. The Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme aims at enhancing the primary healthcare services for the elderly persons, and therefore is not applicable to day surgery procedures.

A: No. Health care vouchers are for use in private healthcare “services”, and cannot be used for solely purchasing products such as medications, spectacles, dried seafood, personal care products, food products or medical equipment.



III. Handling health care vouchers

A: Activation of the service provider account should be done within 21 days of the date of issuance of the confirmation letter. If an account is not activated within 21 days, the application for enrolment may be regarded as withdrawn and the healthcare service provider may have to re-apply for enrolment.

A: Eligible elderly persons have to receive healthcare services in person provided by the enrolled healthcare service providers before they can use their vouchers to settle the relevant service fees. With a view to protecting the right and interest of elderly persons in using vouchers, healthcare service providers must request elderly persons to show their original HKIC for verification of identity. Any person who makes use of other's HKIC (e.g. a deceased elderly person) to use the latter's unspent vouchers might be charged of fraud and subject to criminal liability.

A: Before an enrolled healthcare service provider deduct vouchers from an elderly person’s account, consent has to be obtained from the elderly person on the amount of vouchers to be deducted to settle his/her healthcare service fee by asking the elders to sign on the consent form. Enrolled healthcare service providers are also required to give a copy of the “Notice on Use of Health Care Voucher” attached to the consent form to the elderly person for retention and keep the consent forms for inspection by the Government representatives to ensure that public funds are properly used.

A: The consent forms should be retained until the expiry of 7 complete financial years of the Government from the calendar year in which the relevant reimbursements are made to the healthcare service provider or his/her medical organization or until any dispute between the parties in relation to the Scheme is settled or adjudicated, whichever is the later.

A: If the elderly person is illiterate, he/she can put a mark or finger print on the space for signature to indicate that he/she understands and agrees with the amount of vouchers deducted in the presence of an adult as witness. The enrolled healthcare service provider needs to show the witness the “Consent of Witness/Guardian to Transfer Personal Data” which contains the terms that they are required to consent to and the statement of purpose. After reading the above document, the witness should write his/her name, HKIC number and date on the consent form and sign it. The document “Consent of Witness/Guardian to Transfer Personal Data” is available for downloading here.

A: Yes. The witness should write his/her name, HKIC number and date on the consent form and sign it.

A: This may be caused by errors in the elderly persons’ data inputted by the enrolled healthcare service provider through the eHealth System (Subsidies). We recommend that the enrolled healthcare service provider should check for any discrepancy between the data inputted and that of the elderly person’s existing records in the clinic (e.g. medical record). The enrolled healthcare service providers should contact the elderly person concerned for rectification if required and then rectify the elderly person’s inputted data as soon as possible. To avoid possible errors through manual input of elderly persons’ data, enrolled healthcare service providers are recommended to make use of the Smart ID Card reader provided and request the elderly persons to insert their HKID card into the reader for direct capturing of the required data into the eHealth System (Subsidies).

A: Please explain to the elderly person that health care vouchers can only be claimed upon presentation of a valid HKID card or Certificate of Exemption.

A: For those who do not have a computer, they can use personal digital assistants, mobile phones, or any device with internet access. They can also process claims via the Interactive Voice Response System by telephone. Remaining balance of the elderly person's voucher account can be checked instantly and the amount of vouchers for the visit concerned can be deducted through the eHealth System (Subsidies). The Interactive Voice Response System is restricted only to claiming vouchers for elders who already have validated voucher accounts but not for creation of voucher accounts. For those who do not have a printer, they can bring along with them pre-printed consent forms and write down the elderly persons’ basic information (e.g. the name, HKIC number and the amount of vouchers to be deducted, etc.) for signing by the elderly person. The transaction number generated by the eHealth System (Subsidies) after the transaction should be marked on the consent form accordingly.

A: Guardians are given the legal power by the Guardianship Board to make important decisions relating to personal circumstances for such adults about his/her place of residence or consenting to his/her medical or dental treatment. Guardians may also be given legal power to manage a limited amount of that person’s money. For cases with the Director of Social Welfare as the legal guardian, they will be followed up by social workers of the Social Welfare Department. Regarding elderly persons who are incapable of making their own decisions and have no legal guardian, issues concerned are usually handled by their family members or social workers (not duly authorized) on the premise that the benefit and welfare of the elders are safeguarded. The above arrangements are applicable to the Scheme. The enrolled healthcare service provider needs to show the guardian the “Consent of Witness/Guardian to Transfer Personal Data” which contains the terms that they are required to consent to and the statement of purpose. After reading the above document, the guardian should write his/her name, HKIC number and date on the consent form and sign it. The document “Consent of Witness/Guardian to Transfer Personal Data” is available for downloading here.

A: If the enrolled service provider loses the material provided by the Department of Health, he/she should approach the Health Care Voucher Division (HCVD) to report the loss and request for replacement. HCVD may collect fee from the service provider for the replacement of the material.



IV. Reimbursement

A: Mutual agreement on the reimbursement arrangement should be sought between the healthcare service providers and medical organizations. They can choose to collect reimbursement through the account of one of the concerned parties. The nominated account for reimbursement should be indicated in the “Authority for Payment to a Bank” Form by both healthcare service providers and their medical organizations during the enrolment application.



V. Use of eHealth System (Subsidies)

A: The enrolled healthcare service providers may read the “Technical Problems” under the FAQs in the eHealth System (Subsidies). The section can be accessed through the following link (https://apps.hcv.gov.hk/Documents/FAQs_e.pdf#SP).

A: Eligible elderly persons can continue to use their vouchers after replacing their HKIC. However, as the particular of an elderly person shown on his/her HKIC (e.g. date of issue) would be updated upon replacement of the elderly person's existing HKIC, you are suggested to use Smart ID card reader to make voucher claims to allow automatic update and validation of such particulars, thus saving your time and workload in verifying the updated particulars.


Health Care Voucher Division
Department of Health
July 2021

"Scan QR Code" in WeChat and tap "..." to share.

跳至主要内容

有关医疗服务提供者

医疗服务提供者常见问题及答案

I. 登记

答: 以下于香港注册的私营医护专业人员可登记参加长者医疗券计划,成为计划下的医疗服务提供者: 西医、注册中医、牙医、脊医、注册护士和登记护士、物理治疗师、职业治疗师、放射技师、医务化验师及注册名册第I部分注册的视光师。

答: 为方便向参与计划的服务提供者设立使用医健通(资助)系统的帐户、派发计划标志、服务提供者编号、认证保安编码器及智能身分证阅读器等,我们需要为参加这个计划的服务提供者预先进行登记。

答: 卫生署在收到登记申请表后,大约会在十四个工作天内,以书面形式通知医疗服务提供者有关的初步申请结果。

答: 为方便处理申领医疗券及付还款项会计程序的行政工作,已登记的医疗服务提供者可设「资料输入户口」,授权资料输入员代为处理资料管理工作。有关设立资料输入户口的详情,请参阅以下网址(https://apps.hcv.gov.hk/HCSP/Demo/ZH/serviceprovider.htm)。已登记的医疗服务提供者亦须每天登入医健通(资助)系统,核对及确认经「资料输入户口」所输入有关开设医疗券户口及使用医疗券的资料。资料输入员不需要向卫生署预先登记。

答: 本计划并非单以诊所或医院名义登记。诊所内的医疗服务提供者要以个别医护人员身份再加上其医疗机构一同进行登记,而执业地点 (例如诊所)及指定用作发还医疗券款项的银行帐户亦须在登记时列明。



II. 涵盖服务

答: 医疗券可用于私营(非资助)医护服务,基于避免政府双重补贴的原则,除特别注明外,医疗券不可以用于公营服务或政府直接资助的服务(包括向私营市场购买的公共资助服务)。只要符合此原则,医疗券可用于慈善团体、非牟利机构或其他非政府组织所提供的医护服务。

答: 这视乎社康护士受聘于何种机构,如社康护士由私营机构聘用,合资格人士便可使用医疗券支付此项服务费用,其原则是避免政府双重补贴。

答: 不可以。长者医疗券计划旨在加强对长者的基层医疗服务,所以医疗券并不适用于住院服务。

答: 可以。若此急症室服务是门诊,不涉及住院服务,原则是可以使用医疗券支付服务费用。由于长者医疗券计划旨在加强对长者的基层医疗服务,我们希望医疗服务提供者可建议长者将医疗券多用于基层医疗服务上。

答: 可以。医疗券可用于在私营门诊内提供的预防性及治疗性的服务。

答: 不可以。长者医療券计划旨在为加强对长者的基层医療服务,并不适用于日间手术程序。

答: 医疗券是应用于私营医疗「服务」,故不可用来纯粹购买物品, 如药物丶眼镜丶个人护理用品丶食品丶海味或医疗用品。



III. 处理医疗券

答: 医疗服务提供者必须在确认书发出日期的 21天内启动医健通(资助)系统内的服务提供者户口,如户口没有于限期内启动,登记申请便会被视为已被撤销,医疗服务提供者将需要重新申请登记。

答: 合资格使用医疗券的长者须于亲身接受参与计划的医疗服务提供者向他们提供的医疗服务後才可使用医疗券支付相关的服务费用。因此医疗服务提供者必须要求长者出示身份证正本并核实其身份,以保障长者使用医疗券的权益。任何人士如利用他人身份证(如一位已离世的长者)以使用其户口馀下的医疗券,可能会被控诈骗等罪行及须负上刑事责任。

答: 已登记医疗服务提供者在替长者申报医疗券前,必须要求长者签署同意书以确认其同意扣除的医疗券金额。已登记医疗服务提供者须把同意书所夹附的「医疗券使用记录」交给长者,并保存有关同意书以供日后审查,确保公帑用得其所。

答: 长者签署的同意书须由医疗服务提供者或其相关机构获发还相关费用的历年起计,保存至七个完整政府财政年度完结,或有关各方就医疗券计划的争议获得解决或裁定为止(以较后的日期为准)。

答: 如长者不会读写,可在一名成年人见证下在签名栏画上标记或按指模,以确认明白和同意扣除的医疗券金额。已登记医疗服务提供者须向见证人展示「见证人/监护人同意转交个人资料」文件,当中载有他们须同意的条款及收集个人资料的目的,该见证人在阅读上述文件后,须在同意书内写上其姓名、香港身份证号码、日期及签署。「见证人/监护人同意转交个人资料」文件可按此下载。

答: 可以。见证人须在同意书内写上姓名、香港身份证号码、日期及签署。

答: 这可能因为已登记医疗服务提供者输入医健通(资助)系统内的长者资料错误。我们建议已登记医疗服务提供者应核对所输入的资料与现存在诊所内的长者记录(例如病历记录)是否有偏差。如有需要,亦可联络该名长者,以作澄清,然后尽快更正所输入的长者资料。为避免因人手输入长者资料可能出现的错误,已登记医疗服务提供者应尽量使用智能身分证阅读器并请长者将其香港身分证插进阅读器,以便医健通(资助)系统直接读取所需资料。

答: 请向长者解释必须出示有效身份证或豁免登记证明书,方可进行使用医疗券手续。

答: 若没有电脑,医疗服务提供者可用电子手帐、手提电话、或任何能连系到互联网的仪器。他们亦可用固网电话,连系到互动式语音系统,在医健通(资助)系统里即时查核长者医疗券户口内的医疗券余额,并在系统内扣除长者该次所使用的医疗券金额,但互动式语音系统只限为已有医疗券户口的长者申报使用医疗券,不可开设户口。若没有打印机,可以预先印备一些同意书,方便填写所需的基本资料 (例如姓名、身份证号码、扣除的医疗券金额等 ),然后给长者签署,并随后将医健通(资助)系统在申报使用医疗券后所发出的交易号码填在同意书上。

答: 已获监护委员会授予法定权力的监护人可替精神上无认知能力人士在其住宿或同意接受医疗或牙科治疗等个人事宜上作出重要的决定。监护人亦可获授予法定权力替当事人处理限量的金钱。倘若法定的监护人是社会福利署署长,该署会安排社工跟进。 至于没有决断能力而未有法定监护人的长者,多由亲属或社工在保障长者的利益及福利的前题下,以折衷的方法 (没有正式授权) 协助处理有关事宜。 以上安排适用于长者医疗券计划,已登记医疗服务提供者须向监护人展示「见证人/监护人同意转交个人资料」文件,当中载有他们须同意的条款及收集个人资料的目的,该监护人在阅读上述文件后,须在同意书内写上其姓名、香港身份证号码、日期及签署。「见证人/监护人同意转交个人资料」文件可按此下载。

答: 如已登记医疗服务提供者遗失认证保安编码器,应尽快与医疗券事务科联络及报失,并作出更换。医疗券事务科可就更换认证保安编码器一事,向服务提供者收费。



IV. 付还医疗券金额

答: 医疗服务提供者和医疗机构的分帐安排,应由双方商讨协议。医疗服务提供者和其所属医疗机构可选择其中一方的户口作发还医疗券款项的银行帐户。指定的银行帐户须在申请登记时由医疗服务提供者及其医疗机构在「款项付予银行授权书」内列明。



V. 使用医健通(资助)系统

答: 已登记医疗服务提供者可参阅医健通(资助)系统内「常见问题」下的「技术问题」部份(https://apps.hcv.gov.hk/Documents/FAQs_c.pdf#SP) 。

答: 合资格使用医疗券的长者在换领新身份证後可继续使用其医疗券。然而,由于身份证上的资料(例如签发日期)随换领身份证而更新,请利用智能身份证阅读器以自动更新及核实长者医疗券户口的个人资料,以减轻你核对更新资料的时间及工作量。


卫生署医療券事务科
二零二一年七月

请在微信中扫描二维码然后按「...」以分享