Background of Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme
Health Care Voucher
The Elderly Health Care Voucher Pilot Scheme was initially launched on 1 January 2009 for a period of three years to try out a new concept of enhancing the provision of primary care service for the elderly. Under the Pilot Scheme, five vouchers of $50 each were provided to each elder aged 70 or above annually. The Pilot Scheme aims to supplement existing public healthcare services (e.g. General Out-patient and Specialist Out-patient Clinics) by providing financial incentive for elders to choose private healthcare services that best suit their needs, including preventive care. It is in addition to the existing public healthcare services, which will continue to be made available to elders after the introduction of Elderly Health Care Voucher. By encouraging elders to seek consultation and establish a closer relationship with private doctors who are familiar with their health conditions, it also helps promote the concept of family doctor.

One doctor, one nurse and three peopleBased on the result of Interim Review, the Government decided to extend the Pilot Scheme and increased the annual voucher amount for each eligible elder from $250 to $500 in 2012.
Chinese Medicine Practitioner inspecting patientIn response to the positive feedback from the community, from 1 January 2013, the Government has increased the annual voucher amount to $1,000. From 2014, the Scheme has been converted from a pilot project into a recurrent support programme for the elderly and the annual voucher amount has also been increased to $2,000. We continue to allow the unspent vouchers to be carried forward and accumulated by an eligible elder, subject to a ceiling of $4,000 to encourage elders to make more frequent use of the vouchers for primary care services including both curative and preventive care.
Voucher Recipients

Healthcare Service Providers

Highlights

Restrictions in Using Health Care Vouchers

长 者 医 疗 券 计 划 背 景
医疗券
政 府在2009 年1 月1 日推出为期3 年的长 者 医 疗 券试验计划,试行加强长者基层医疗服务的新概念。在试验计划下,年满70 岁的 长 者 每 人 每 年 会获发 5 张 面 值 50 元 的 医 疗 券 。试 验计划旨 在通过提供财政诱因, 让长者选择最切合他们需要的私营医疗服务,包括预防性护理服务,藉以辅助现有的公营医疗服务,例如普通科门诊和专科门诊诊所。医疗券是在现有公营医疗服务以外,为长者提供的额外选择。

一位医生,一位护士及三个人在推行长者医疗券后,有需要的 长 者 仍 可 继 续 使 用 公 营 医 疗 服 务 。 此 外 , 试 验 计 划 鼓 励 长 者 向 熟 悉其健康状况的私家医生求诊,从而与私家医生建立更密切的关系,这亦有助推广家庭医生的概念。
中医在诊症政 府 根 据 中 期 检 讨 结 果 , 决 定延 长 计 划 ,并在 2012 年 将每 名 合 资 格 长 者 可 使 用 的 医 疗 券 金 额 由每年250 元 增 至 500 元 。
医疗仪器 由于计划受社会普遍的欢迎 , 由 2013 年 1 月 1 日 起 , 政 府 把 医 疗 券 金 额 增 至 每 年 1,000 元 。在2014 年,医 疗 券 计 划除已 由 试 验 性 质 转 为 恒 常 长 者 支 援 计 划 ,每 名 合 资 格 长 者的医疗券金额亦增加至每年2,000元。 我 们 会 继 续 容 许 合 资 格 长 者 保留 和 累 积 尚 未 使 用 的 医 疗 券 , 但 以 4,000 元 为 上 限,以 鼓 励 长 者 多 使 用 医 疗 券 接 受 基 层 医 疗 服 务 , 包 括 治 疗 和 预 防 性 质 的 护 理 服 务 。
医 疗 券 使 用 者

医 疗 服 务 提 供 者

特 点

使 用 医 疗 券 的 规 限